Sessions

Submission deadline: January 10, 2019  – see here how to submit

  1. Everyday Chauvinisms. The Making of a Mentality in the Urban and Rural Life.
    Convenor: Pietro Saitta (University of Messina).
    Contact: pisait@gmail.com.

  2. Education in a Digital Era. Epistemological and Methodological Challenges in the Ethnographic Field.
    Convenors: Assunta Viteritti & Leonardo Piromalli (University of Rome “La Sapienza).
    Contact: leonardo.piromalli@uniroma1.it.

  3. The Engaging Side Of Pain.
    Convenors: Federica Manfredi (University of Lisbon) & Dario Nardini (University of Milano-Bicocca).
    Contacts: federicamanfredi@hotmail.fr, d.nardini@campus.unimib.it.

  4. Across the Country and Around the World. Comparative Ethnographies and Qualitative Studies of Workers Organising.
    Convenors: Annalisa Murgia &  Paolo Borghi (University of Milan).
    Contacts: annalisa.murgia@unimi.it, paolo.borghi@unimi.it.

  5. Heritage, Conflicts, Tourism and the Role of Researchers. An Ethnographic Approach.
    Convenors: Giovanna Rech (University of Trento) & Monica Gilli (University of Torino).
    Contacts: giovanna.rech@unitn.it; monica.gilli@unito.it.

  6. Reflection on Research Experiences among “Unmarked” Groups. Ethnographies of Inverted Fieldworks.
    Convenors: Yolinliztli Pérez Hernández (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales; Institut National d’Études Démographiques) & Paulina Sabugal Paz (University of Pisa; University of Roma Tre).
    Contacts: yolinliztli.perez@ehess.fr, pau.sabugal@gmail.com.

  7. Ethnographies of Algorithms and (Big)Data.
    Convenors: Biagio Aragona & Adam Arvidsson (University Federico II of Naples). Contact: aragona@unina.it.

  8. Micro-Sociality of the Giftee. Doing Status in Interaction: Charisma and Privilege.
    Convenors: Chiara Bassetti & Emanuele Bottazzi (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche).
    Contacts: chiara.bassetti@cnr.it, emanuele.bottazzi@loa.istc.cnr.it.

  9. The Researcher’s Role in Militant Ethnography. Sympathy and Strain with the Research Context.
    Convenor: Stefano Boni (Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia).
    Contact: sboni@unimore.it.

  10. Public Health Interventions: Global Problems, Local Solutions.
    Convenors: Sandra L. Trappen (Penn State University) & Zoe Meleo-Erwin (William Paterson University of New Jersey).
    Contact: Slt62@psu.edu.

  11. Youth Collectivities: Making them Visible and Researchable.
    Convenor: Valentina Cuzzocrea (Università di Cagliari).
    Contact: cuzzocrea@unica.it.

  12. Ethnographies of energy production in times of transition.
    Convenors: Noura AlKhalili (Lund University) & Gloria Pessina (Politecnico di Milano).
    Contacts: noura.alkhalili@keg.lu.se, gloria.pessina@polimi.it.

  13. Relatedness through Transnational Reproduction.
    Convenors: Corinna Sabrina Guerzoni (Western Fertility Institute) & Giulia Zanini (European University Institute).
    Contacts: corinna.guerzoni@gmail.com, giulia.zanini@eui.eu.

  14. Sensorial Worlds of Production and Consumption.
    Convenors: Shawnee Harkness & Clelia Viecelli (University of Southampton).
    Contacts: s.k.harkness@soton.ac.uk, c.viecelli@soton.ac.uk.

  15. Materializing Ethnography. The Ethnographic Gaze on Material Culture, between Consumption, Media and Technology Studies.
    Convenors: Lorenzo Domaneschi (University of Milan) & Oscar Ricci (University of Milan-Bicocca).
    Contacts: lorenzo.domaneschi@unimi.it, oscar.ricci@unimib.it.

  16. Doing Ethnographic Research in the Field of Anti-Trafficking. Methodological and Conceptual Challenges.
    Convenors: Giulia Garofalo Geymonat (Università Cà Foscari, Venice) & Michela Semprebon (Cattedra Unesco SSIIM, Università IUAV, Venice).
    Contacts: giulia.garofalo@unive.it, msemprebon@iuav.it, michela.semprebon@gmail.com.

  17. Multiple Spiritualities through the Lens of Ethnography.
    Convenors: Stefania Palmisano (University of Turin) & Emily Pierini (University of Wales Trinity Saint David; The American University of Rome).
    Contacts: stefania.palmisano@unito.it, e.pierini@aur.edu.

  18. The Movement and Countermovement of Finance. Ethnographic Explorations and Conceptualizations.
    Convenors: Zaira Tiziana Lofranco (University of Bergamo) & Fabio Mattioli (University of Melbourne).
    Contacts: zaira.lofranco@gmail.com, fabio.mattioli@unimelb.edu.au.

  19. Exploring the Everyday Life Dimensions of Responsibilities.
    Convenors: Salvatore La Mendola (University of Padova) & Morena Tartari (University of Antwerp).
    Contacts: salvatore.lamendola@unipd.it, morena.tartari@uantwerpen.be.

  20. Decolonizing Ethnographies of Migration from the Southern Mediterranean. Convenors: Ilaria Giglioli (New College of Florida) & Wael Garnaoui (Université Paris Diderot); in collaboration with the Black Mediterranean Collective.
    Contacts: igiglioli@ncf.edu, garnaoui-wael@live.fr.

  21. Social Sciences from Dissonance to Ambiguity: Breaking the Deadlock.
    Convenors: Lynda Dematteo (IIAC EHESS CNRS Paris) & Mariella Pandolfi (Université de Montréal).
    Contacts: lynda.dematteo@ehess.fr, pandolfi.mariella@gmail.com

  22. Gendering Ethnography. How Does Gender Affect the Fieldwork (and the Other Way Around)?.
    Convenors: Cristina Oddone (University of Strasbourg) & Costanza Currò (University of Helsinki).
    Contact: genderingethnography@gmail.com.

  23. International Mobility and African Cities.
    Convenors: Nick Dines (European University Institute) & Paola Piscitelli (University of Witwatersrand; University of Hamburg).
    Contacts: nicholas.dines@eui.eu, piscitelli.paola.planumnet@gmail.com.

  24. Ethnographies of Supermarket and Logistics Revolutions.
    Convenors: Andrea Bottalico (University of Milano) & Martina Lo Cascio (University of Bergamo).
    Contacts: andrea.bottalico@unimi.it, martina.locascio@unibg.it

  25. Exploring Death in the Twenty-First Century: Field Research Results.
    Convenors: Asher Colombo (University of Bologna) & Francesca Pasquali (University of Bergamo).
    Contact: francesca.pasquali@unibg.it.

Posted in