About

8th ETHNOGRAPHY AND QUALITATIVE RESEARCH CONFERENCE

VIII CONVEGNO DI ETNOGRAFIA E RICERCA QUALITATIVA

University of Bergamo, Italy

June 3-6, 2020

Organized by:

The University of Bergamo

The journal Etnografia e Ricerca Qualitativa (ERQ)

il Mulino publishing house

 

Established in 2006, the Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference has become a recognised scientific meeting for social researchers interested in ethnographic inquiry in Italy and abroad.

Ethnography is increasingly practiced as a crucial research method across a range of social sciences, and beyond. In fact, more than a method, ethnography could be said to entail a whole philosophy of social research and a special sensitivity towards the intersubjective worlds in which people and other creatures live.

The 2020 Edition (8th Edition) consolidates the rich intellectual discussion spurred by previous editions. Researchers from across disciplines and fields including sociology, anthropology, political sciences, arts & humanities, education, social work, geography, cultural studies, science and technology studies, and gender studies, are welcome to present their research and discuss their cutting-edge findings in a lively, informal environment.

The aims of the Conference include:

  • fostering scholarly exchange and facilitate research collaborations among senior and junior scholars based in different universities and research centres in Europe and abroad;

  • supporting the dissemination of fresh, original, and timely research;

  • encouraging PhD students at different stages of their research career to share and present preliminary findings and fieldwork experience;

  • welcoming graduate and undergraduate students as audience to the conference and active participants in the discussion.

The Conference embraces and endorses a broad, ambitious view of ethnographic research. Contributions can be based on a variety of methods, including participant observation, in-depth interviews, focus groups, video-based field studies, auto-ethnography, visual ethnography, discourse studies, and other forms of inquiry inspired and informed by an ethnographic sensibility.

Empirically grounded, theoretically informed, and methodologically sound proposals that contribute to the substantive knowledge of the social world and contemporary emerging phenomena are particularly valued.

The Conference format is based on 3-hour sessions, with 5 to 6 paper presentations per session, leaving as much room as possible for debate and discussion.

“This is not a conference, it’s a feast!”, once said a participant. Join us in celebrating a shared ethnographic passion!

***

About the 2020 totemic person. Who is the person pictured in the banner above? For each Conference edition, we have selected an Italian intellectual who, while not being an ethnographer stricto sensu, has revealed a prominent ethnographic sensitivity in his/her work. By doing so, we want to both emphasise the many sources of ethnography and invite scholars to re-consider the work of certain Italian writers and artists whose attitude can be still quite inspirational nowadays. In 2014, we featured Antonio Gramsci, in 2016 Pier Paolo Pasolini, in 2018 Tina Modotti. For the 2020 edition, we have chosen Goliarda Sapienza (see also here).

***

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Chiara Bassetti, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (chiara.bassetti@cnr.it)

Elena Bougleux, University of Bergamo (elena.bougleux@unibg.it)

Andrea Mubi Brighenti, University of Trento (andrea.brighenti@unitn.it)

Sebastiano Citroni, University of Milan, (sebastiano.citroni@unimi.it)

Nick Dines, European University Institute  (nicholas.dines@eui.eu)

Elena Fontanari, University of Milano (elena.fontanari@unimi.it)

Paola Gandolfi, University of Bergamo (paola.gandolfi@unibg.it)

Pier Paolo Giglioli, University of Bologna (ppgiglioli@gmail.com)

Alberta Giorgi, University of Bergamo (alberta.giorgi@unibg.it)

Alessandra Gribaldo, University of Roma Tre (alessandra.gribaldo@uniroma3.it)

Marco Marzano, University of Bergamo (marco.marzano@unibg.it)

Cristina Mattiucci, University of Trento (cristina.mattiucci@unitn.it)

Gianmarco Navarini, University of Milano Bicocca (gianmarco.navarini@unimib.it)

Francesca Pasquali, University of Bergamo (francesca.pasquali@unibg.it)

Domenico Perrotta, University of Bergamo (domenico.perrotta@unibg.it)

Federico Rahola, University of Genova (federico.rahola@unige.it)

 

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Chiara Bassetti, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (chiara.bassetti@cnr.it)

Andrea Bottalico, University of Milan (andrea.bottalico@unimi.it)

Sebastiano Citroni, University of Milan, (sebastiano.citroni@unimi.it)

Marco Fama, University of Bergamo (marco.fama@unibg.it)

Francesca Fiore, University of Trento (francesca.fiore@unitn.it)

Elena Fontanari, University of Milan (elena.fontanari@unimi.it)

Alberta Giorgi, University of Bergamo (alberta.giorgi@unibg.it)

Martina Lo Cascio, University of Bergamo (martina.locascio@unibg.it)

Cristina Mattiucci, University of Trento (cristina.mattiucci@unitn.it)

Elena Musolino, University of Bergamo (elena.musolino@unibg.it)

Domenico Perrotta, University of Bergamo (domenico.perrotta@unibg.it)

 

 

Posted in